Recent Electronic health record Significant Use Program Updates


Once we go into the sixth year from the Medicare and State medicaid programs Electronic Health Records Incentive Programs (generally known as the “Meaningful Use Programs”), the Centers for Medicare & State medicaid programs Services (CMS) is constantly on the make alterations in the Significant Use Programs to higher accommodate providers and suppliers. Two recent updates are described below.

CMS Streamlines Difficulty Exception Process

CMS lately announced important changes towards the difficulty exception application for that Medicare Significant Use Program. Underneath the Medicare Significant Use Program, qualified professionals (EPs), qualified hospitals, and demanding access hospitals (CAHs) that don’t be eligible for a significant use are susceptible to Medicare payment penalties. The Individual Access and Medicare Protection Act (PAMPA), Pub. L. No. 114-115, which President Barack Obama signed into law on December 28, 2015, now requires CMS to think about difficulty exceptions for several groups of EPs, qualified hospitals, and CAHs which were identified on CMS’s website by December 15, 2015. Included in this are groups for example inadequate internet connectivity, extreme and unmanageable conditions (e.g., disasters), insufficient control of Electronic health record technology (EPs only), and insufficient face-to-face interactions (EPs only). Under prior law, CMS considered all difficulty waivers on the “case-by-case” basis.

Using these changes, CMS has adopted a far more streamlined process for trying to get a difficulty exception. As previously, EPs, qualified hospitals, and CAHS should be conscious from the relevant deadlines for trying to get difficulty exception. For EPs, that deadline is March 15, 2016 for qualified hospitals and CAHs, the deadline is April 1, 2016. Being an additional accommodation, CMS signifies that EPs who practice inside a medical group could use one difficulty exception application for those EPs within the group, and qualified hospitals and CAHs which include inpatient and outpatient settings can include both individual Nation Provider Identifiers (NPIs) for just about any EPs and also the CMS certification number (CCN) for that qualified hospitals and CAHs on one submission for his or her organization.

These changes will help qualifying EPs, qualified hospitals, and CAHs steer clear of the sting of Medicare payment penalties. CMS has published the updated difficulty exception materials on its website.

CMS Extends Significant Use Program Attestation Deadline

To permit EPs, qualified hospitals, and CAHs more hours to verify significant use for 2015, CMS has extended the attestation deadline for that Medicare Significant Use Program from Feb 29, 2016 to March 11, 2016. EPs, qualified hospitals, and CAHs have access to the Significant Use Program attestation website here.

View This Web Site



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here